The 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Tournament bracket was announced Monday evening at 7 p.m. EDT.
The 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Tournament bracket was announced Monday evening at 7 p.m. EDT.

Two undefeated teams highlight 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship Bracket

March 17, 2014 - 8:08pm

Five teams make first appearance while two others selected for over 30th time in 33-year
history of championship.

INDIANAPOLIS—Historical milestones weave the way through the 64-team field of
competitors for the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship, as announced today
by the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee.

Highlighting the selections are five programs that are making their first appearance, while
two others are celebrating being selected over 30 times in the 33-year history of the championship.
Earning No. 1 seeds are University of Connecticut (34-0); University of Notre Dame (32-0);
University of Tennessee, Knoxville (27-5) and University of South Carolina, Columbia (27-4).
Tennessee was the Southeastern Conference (SEC) tournament champion, while South Carolina was
an at-large selection from the SEC after winning the conference regular season championship.

UConn and Notre Dame each concluded the regular season with unblemished records en route to
winning conference regular season and tournament titles in the American Athletic and Atlantic Coast
Conferences, respectively. The perfect records mark only the second time in the history of Division I
women’s basketball that two teams enter the tournament undefeated. The only other time was in
1998 when both Tennessee and Liberty University were undefeated entering tournament play.
Tennessee went on to win the national championship with a 39-0 record, while Liberty was
eliminated in the first round.

Thirty-two conferences were granted automatic bids for the championship and the remaining
32 teams were selected at-large.

First- and second-round games will be played at 16 sites Saturday, March 22 thru Tuesday,
March 25, with the 16 second-round winners moving on to the four regional sites. The Lincoln
Regional (Pinnacle Bank Arena, Lincoln, Neb.) and the Notre Dame Regional (Purcell Pavilion,
Notre Dame, Ind.) will be played on Saturday, March 29 and Monday, March 31, while the
Louisville Regional (KFC Yum! Center, Louisville, Ky.) and the Stanford Regional (Maples
Pavilion, Stanford, Calif.) will be held Sunday, March 30 and Tuesday, April 1. The four regional
winners will advance to the 2014 NCAA Women’s Final Four®, April 6 and 8 in Nashville, Tenn.
(Bridgestone Arena).

Tennessee continues its appearance streak, participating in all 33 NCAA Division I Women’s
Basketball Championships. Second on the all-time appearance list is the University of Georgia,
making its 31st overall appearance. The University of Akron, University of North Dakota,
University of South Dakota, Winthrop University and Wright State University are all making their
first NCAA Tournament appearance.

In the history of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship, 14 schools have
captured the national title. Tennessee and UConn lead the way with eight championships apiece.
UConn is the defending national champion after claiming the 2013 title in New Orleans with a 93-60
win over the University of Louisville in the title game, matching Tennessee for the most national
championships won by a single school. If they are able to score six more wins in the 2014
championship, UConn would equal Baylor’s record for most wins in a season, with Baylor going 40-
0 in 2012.

Source: NCAA News Release.